Dainese wins the 19th stage in a sprint ahead of Ganna. Tomorrow’s stage promises to be more explosive on a very hilly route.

Stage 19 towards Íscar was promised to the sprinters, and it did not escape them. Four courageous people, including three Frenchmen, made up the morning breakaway: Clément Davy (Groupama FDJ), Paul Lapeira (AG2R Citroën Team), Mathis Le Berre (Arkéa Samsic) and Michal Schlegel (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA). The Alpecin-Deceuninck team of Kaden Groves and the UAE Team Emirates of Sebastian Molano ensured the chase, never leaving more than two minutes of lead to the fugitives, who were finally caught 20 kilometers from the finish. Alberto Dainese (DSM Firmenich) finally beat Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers) and Marijn Van Den Berg (EF Education – Easypost) on the sprint line. He had already won at the Giro in May and won his second stage on a Grand Tour this year. Green jersey Kaden Groves was caught in a fall with his teammates in the last kilometer and was unable to compete in the sprint.

The last mountain stage of this Vuelta had crowned Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) yesterday, and the Belgian will undoubtedly try tomorrow to win a fourth stage in this Vuelta, on a profile that could suit him. With no less than ten climbs listed, all in 3rd category, this hilly stage of more than 200 kilometers should also make the last big gaps between the favorites, before the final arrival in Madrid on Sunday. The Jumbo Visma have decided to offer this Vuelta to Sepp Kuss, model teammate in the Giro and Tour this year. For the American, it would be a first Grand Tour victory. Barring any incidents, the Jumbo Visma will also achieve a historic hat-trick in the General Classification by placing Jonas Vingegaard second and Primoz Roglic third.

Stage classification and general classification

Here is the stage classification and the general classification of the Vuelta, updated at the end of each stage:

The Vuelta traditionally takes place after the Tour de France. For its 78th edition, the start of the Tour of Spain has been scheduled for August 26, from Barcelona, ​​capital of Catalonia, more than a month after the arrival of the Tour de France (July 23). The finish of the Tour of Spain was set three weeks later, on September 17, in Madrid.

Holder of the TV rights for the French and Italian classics but also for the three grand tours (Giro, Tour de France, Vuelta), the Eurosport group has been appointed to broadcast all of the stages of the 2023 Tour of Spain on its channels.

Here is the start list for the Vuelta 2023 with the competing teams and the list of riders on the starting line.

A route marked by the mountains and which leaves little room for mass arrivals… Here are the details of the Tour of Spain 2023 route with the full map:

After a 14-kilometer team time trial from the seaside of the Barcelona city, the Tour of Spain will end at the Zarzuela Hippodrome in Madrid. The list of steps: